Haunted

When I think back on my day at the haunted hotel, I can see how overwhelming it was in many ways. The house itself was a true creation, and all the rooms were crammed with interesting things and dusty old furniture. I did have a paranormal experience in one of the bedrooms – where there is a very long but narrow bed that a Swedish King once slept in. As soon as I got into the room, I felt out of breath and I had trouble breathing. I also felt a heavy weight on my chest. I didn’t want to stay in the room for too long but the light was beautiful in there and I got great shots of Karin. Here is one of them.

Photography by Mia Makila, Model: Karin Engman

I wasn’t expecting to feel anything strange in the house, especially since I don’t really believe in ghosts or spirits.

When I got back home, I  transferred all the 1600 photos from my camera into the computer – and I wasn’t pleased with how most of them turned out. I felt a little disappointed. It is my first real shoot without Domenique and this time, I didn’t have anyone to rely on when it comes to make up or costume. When I am working, I have to be aware of the settings of the camera, whilst directing the models, make sure that their hands are in a good position, that the eyes display a genuine expression, that the hair is good or messy – and  I have to be aware of the light, the shadow, the camera angle – and the god damn focus point. I really need an assistent.

This is a great opportunity for me to learn from my recent mistakes. I’ve also realized that I am a portrait photographer and I feel uncomfortable with dressing up my models in various costumes and wigs. I like it real. Simple. And as naked as possible (psychologically). At least now I know this about myself. The haunted hotel gave me many answers to questions I didn’t even know I was asking.

Write a comment

