I promise to be louder

I am watching this week’s episode of “The Handmaid’s Tale” and it is the scariest thing I’ve ever seen – not because the fantasy of a post-apocalyptic Western society, but because it highlights the issues that some women all over the world are dealing on a daily basis – especially in other cultures and traditions. It is scary because it is too close to reality and nobody is really addressing how messed up this world is when it comes to these matters. I don’t call myself a feminist because I believe that I am just a person – a human being – and the idea of equality (gender, religion, social status and class, sexual orientation etc) should be the true and real general perception of this world, not a ‘thing’ that you call yourself or believe in. But it is disturbing how ‘women’s issues’ (I really dislike that term) are ignored and trivialized. “The Handmaid’s Tale” visualizes them in a clear and exaggerated way. It isn’t the stories in the series that are haunting me, it is the silence in the world that covers up the REAL issues behind the exaggerations. I wish I could do something. Do more. Try harder. Contribute more. I want to be more open about how women experience life, love, society, abuse, relationships, their own bodies and sexuality. I promise to try harder. To be louder. To be more unapologetic about the true nature of women.

Write a comment

