Somewhere in between

I feel so full of life and energy right now. My mind is a bottomless source of new creative ideas. Good thing I have my meditation, otherwise my mind would never go quiet. At the same time, I feel both grounded and centered. I have been going to some job interviews lately and I am finally on the right path. I know now how and where to use my creative resources and I’ve found the direction for my future work challenges outside my own career. This is a huge change for me and I feel proud of myself for the hard work I’ve done to get to this point. It wasn’t that long ago since I had no idea how to use all the knowledge and the experience I’ve collected throughout the years working as an artist. Being an artist is so much more than just being creative in the studio. You have to have a sense for business, you have to know how to market yourself and your art, you have to create a brand, a place in the art world, you have to network and build relationships with galleries, customers, collectors, fans and with the audience in general. Then there is the ‘nitty gritty’ work of practical things, such as wrapping the artworks – and shipping, tracking and signing DHL delivery papers.

In the future when I have more money, I will hire an assistent to do all the other stuff for me, because it is what made me crash during the years I was pretty successful. At least now I know my weak spots. I definitely have to get better at the business stuff and perhaps a day time job can work as an business education for me as well as a place where I can explore and refine my other great resources. I feel very inspired and ready to take on new challenges.

And while all this is happening, I am working with Andy on the Swedish documentary about me and my art. He will come over in a few hours to shoot some scenes. This is all very surreal and a little bisarre but also fun and beautiful. This is a time in my life where I am planning my comeback as an artist and it’s exciting to not know how this comeback will tun out, both for me and for an audience as well. I might fail or I might make it big – and the reality of it will most likely be found somewhere in between.

Write a comment

