My artistic transformation during 2006

My second trauma started around the summer of 2006, only a couple of years after the painful divorce from my abusive husband. Needless to say, it was too much to handle and I quickly sunk into a deep depression. During this time my art went through a big change as well. As I was dealing with the depression and feeling absolutely broken, my paintings shifted from a more realistic style to being covered in color splashes, almost like blood splatter and tears. “My Secret” is a good example of this transformation. Both versions are from late 2006.

“My Secret” by Mia Makila, 2006, an earlier version and the later:

my_secret1

Write a comment

