A new direction

I took the day off to rest. I’ve been working hard on the painting this week and I’m a little rusty – it’s been a long time since I was able to have this kind of deep focus. I get easily drained. But I am not complaining,  I feel really happy. My mojo is working, I feel sexual and inhibited while painting, even though the painting is very controlled and well balanced. But there is so much happening inside me. At night I have these dreams where I’m finding new rooms in my house,  rooms I didn’t know about.  That’s how it feels like inside me right now. I’m finding new space to occupy. New land to conquer. More of me.

I’m letting go of all the bad energies, I’m not holding on to any anger, regret or bitterness. Perhaps that’s why I’m taking this painting in a new direction. The original theme was rage, but it’s just not there anymore. I’m trying out some new things, both in my technique and in the themes. I have such a big treasure chest of a private mythology now since all those years in therapy. The symbols of the mythology is slowly getting integrated in my art. It is really exciting. My new art is more personal. I feel naked, but in the best of ways.

I finally have a title for my new work – “The Core”, and I think it’s a transitional piece. Something that has both my past and my future in it. A new Era is coming and a new artistic language is emerging from my core. I’ll let it speak up. Loudly and proudly.

2 thoughts on “A new direction

  1. i like it …….The Core…….and yes you speak loudly and proudly………and i will be looking and listening for you ………every now and then you have too step back and catch your breath you need too rest ………….little by little ……………..Stevie …….I’m so happy for you so i must thank you for the smile i have on my face as i send you this good night little miss sweet dreams

    Like

  2. Thank you for the smile in return 🙂

    Yes, I have to breath at times …it’s easy to be burned out in something you love and feel passionate about… I have to be careful… So I won’t go there again…

    But it is so much fun!!!

    Like

Write a comment

